{do you even}

Image

IIFYM {if it fits your macros} makes me happy. So happy! Again, I am very new to keeping track of my macros and am by far no expert. I’m just here on a mission, trying to find what works best for me. Maybe it will work for you, too. But, maybe not. Find what works, and run with it! {the picture is from my instagram, and was after either 3 or 4 meals that day. I’m trying to hit my macros with 168g protein/168g carbs/37g fat…but please figure out your own macros as this was calculated to fit me and everyone is different!}Instagram
To learn more about Macros and Micros in terms of nutrition, I really like this article from doyoueven.com. Here are a couple of excerpts that really stick out for me and one of the main reasons I wanted to give tracking my macros a try:

IIFYM is a flexible dieting approach where you disregard arbitrary food labels such as “junk food” and “clean food” and focus on your total caloric intake (calories in versus calories out), your daily set macro-nutrient targets (your fats, carbs, protein), and your micro-nutrient goals (your vitamins and minerals) in order to achieve your desired body composition.

IIFYM is designed to ensure that you hit your desired body composition goals while still maintaining a balanced social life with a healthy eating lifestyle.

If you want to calculate your macros, and give this do you even flexible eating a try click here and you will be redirected to a macro nutrient calculator. Right now I am currently trying to keep my macros at 40/40/20. Which means out of my daily caloric intake, 40% will be from protein, 40% will be from carbs, and 20% from fat. I might even try to up my carbs to a 30/50/20 intake, GASP!

One of my favorite things about this, is that I don’t really feel like I have “cheat” meals. Cheat meals are great, and everyone needs to have them but they would still make me feel like I should not have eaten that and then in turn kind of make me feel bad about myself for eating something not healthy. Now, I don’t sweat it. Hey, if it fits my macros, imma gonna eat it!

Let me know if you already are or are going to try out IIFYM!
Peace Out~
Nicholle

2 Comments

  1. Howdy I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all
    round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all
    at the moment but I have book-marked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

