{l-glutamine}

I think supplements tend to get a bad wrap, mostly due to people thinking of them as “diet” pills and just plain being misinformed! I believe in doing your research and deciding for yourself if a supplement is for you. I have the mindset that if I am going to be putting this much time and effort into something, I am going to make sure I am getting maximum results and using all means available to achieve those results. I tend to think in analogies {bare with me!}, so if I were a runner training for a marathon I am not going to wear just any shoes…of course I could, but in order to supplement my running abilities, I would most likely go to a specialty store and test out a pair of shoes that is specifically for running marathons. No? For myself with weightlifting, I am going to supplement my workouts with what will help me build muscle, while loosing fat, and help with muscle recovery. I am by far no expert, this is what is working for me. Like I said, do your research and get informed and then decide for yourself how you might supplement your workouts!

Theses are the supplements that I take {protein powder, plant based multi-vitamin, an omega blend, pre-workout,  non-stimulant fat burner, and L-Glutamine}. Today, I want to talk to you about L-Glutamine and why I take it.

images-11

WHAT IS L-GLUTAMINE? Glutamine is a carbon and nitrogen donor and it helps restore glycogen which restores energy. Glutamine is the most important component of muscle protein, and helps repair and build muscle.

HOW DOES IT WORK? Glutamine is the most abundant free amino acid in the body. Amino acids are the building blocks of protein. Glutamine is produced in the muscles and is distributed by the blood to the organs that need it. Glutamine has been shown to help gut function, the immune system, and other essential processes in the body, especially in times of stress. If the body uses more glutamine than the muscles can make {i.e., during times of stress}, muscle wasting can occur.

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS?

  • Glutamine may help boost your immune system, as it is a primary energy source for your immune system.
  • Glutamine has been linked to protein synthesis. It prevents your muscle from being catabolized in order to provide Glutamine for other cells in the body.
  • Glutamine helps maintain cell volume and hydration, speeding up would and burn healing and recovery.
  • Glutamine is one of the most important nutrients for your intestines! It has the ability to ‘repair a leaky gut’ by maintaining the structural integrity of the bowels.
  • AND it can even cure ULCERS! Studies have found that 1.6 grams of Glutamine a day had a 92% cure rate of ulcers in just 4 weeks! ***As a sufferer of Ulcerative Colitis and just not having any relief from medical treatment, this alone was reason for me to start using L-Glutamine***

Glutamine might be the most important amino acid to someone that does hard/intense/extreme workouts. It provides a component in muscle metabolism and cellular support not shared by any other single amino acid.

WHAT ARE THE SIDE EFFECTS? There are no negative side effects to taking Glutamine, besides some have reported upset stomach when taking higher than recommended doses.

Any fans of L-Glutamine out there??
Peace Out~
Nicholle
<information on L-Glutamine was found on web.md and from an article on bodybuilding>

Leave a Reply

