{snack attack}

Don’t you just love a good snack??!! I eat six to eight times a day, so I am basically snacking all day. Most of my meals are 200 to 400 calories, give or take. I feel like my body responds really well to eating smaller portions more frequently. Here are a couple of “snacks” that I have made recently. First up {torpizza}! It was about 7:30 pm and I was hungry, so I made this quick and easy tortilla style pizza after I saw one similar on my friend’s IG {check her out @anneleigh83 on instagram, she also has a blog run.eathealthy.repeat for you to follow! She posts great workouts, yummy food, and is very inspirational!}

For my torpizza, I just used what I had on hand. Of course, you can use whatever you have!

torpizza

  • 1 low carb tortilla {la banderita}
  • 2 Tb. pizza sauce {muir glen organic}
  • 1/4 cup spinach
  • 4 thin slices of tomato
  • 1/4 cup zucchini thinly sliced
  • 1 chicken sausage with apple and gouda {from costco}
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

I first got the tortilla a bit crispy on the stove top as my oven heated {I set my oven to convection bake at 400}, and then layered it with the pizza sauce, spinach, chicken tomatoes, zucchini, and shredded cheese. I then put it in the oven on my pizza stone {a baking pan would work} and just kept an eye on it until the cheese was melty and the veggies looked soft. Of course, then all I had left to do was to devour it!

{MACROS are calories: 337 I protein: 29g I crabs: 21g I fat: 15g}

Next up is an after school snack that I made for my boys {of course I had to have one, too!}. This was on the back of the graham cracker box, I changed it a bit by adding more strawberries and blueberries and omitting the banana. I also added 2 scoops of Beyond Driven protein powder in Cake Batter to turn this into a protein packed snack!

Berry Frozen Yogurt Bars

Strawberry bars

  • 10 1/2  Graham, broken into quarters {42 pieces}
  • 3/4 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries {I used frozen}
  • 1 cup vanilla greek yogut {greek gods, vanilla honey, I ran out of vanilla and also use fage 0% plain}
  • 1 cup fat free whipped topping
  • 2 scoops Beyond Driven Whey Isolate in cake batter

I left the berries as is, but if you want you could pulse them a bit in a food processor to have smaller chunks. Line a 9 in square pan with foil, having ends extend over the sides to help lift the bars out when they are done. Arrange half of the graham pieces in 3 rows of 7 on the bottom of the pan. Stir the rest of the ingredients together in a bowl until topping, yogurt, and protein powder all well combined. Spread on top of bottom graham pieces and then top with remaining graham pieces. Freeze for at least 4 hours. When time to serve, lift out of pan with foil “handles” and cut into 21 bars. YUM!

{MACROS for 1 bar are calories: 62 I protein: 4g I carbs: 9g I fat: 1g}

It’s hard to beat a good snack!
Peace Out~
Nicholle

Leave a Reply

