{fall for all}

It is that time of year, sweaters, boots, jeans, and FOOD! Something about this season makes me want to eat, and not eat healthy mind you! Donuts, desserts, hot cider, coffee with of course pumpkin creamer…the list goes on. NOM, NOM, NOM! Yes, I have given in to the occasional treat {okay, let’s be honest, it has been more like daily treats}. I have been feeling more sluggish and just lower energy and I blame the treats. To get back on track, here are two amazing recipes!

Image

I made the squash the day before this time and just scooped it out, mashed it a bit, and put it in the fridge. I had all kinds of squash to use up so I baked it all {butternut, acorn, delicata, and pumpkin}, but I normally just use butternut squash. Also, use whatever grains you have {wild rice blends are really nice in this}. Same with the sausage, I was just using up what I had in the freezer and it worked {a spicy sausage is very taste in this, but the sweet one I used this time was also great}. Season to taste, some nutmeg or cinnamon would compliment this soup. This makes about 16 cups, so a 1 cup serving macros are {Calories: 167 I Protein: 12g I Carbs: 24g I Fat: 3g}

soup

Image

I have lots of left over squash and pumpkin that I didn’t use in the soup, so I made this up this morning. I put 1/2 cup of quick oats in a bowl with 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup of pumpkin/squash, and sprinkled it with a good amount of pumpkin pie spice, then microwaved it for 1 minute. I then added 1 scoop of Beyond Driven Whey Isolate in cake batter, stirred, and nuked another 30 seconds to 1 minute {longer for thicker}. I topped it with 1 Tb. Greek God’s Vanilla Honey yogurt, and 2 Tb. granola, and then a bit more pumpkin pie spice! This was really, really, really good! Macros without the toppings are {Calories: 279 I Protein: 33g I Carbs: 33g I Fat: 3g}

Let’s lighten up this fall food at bit! My abs are not a fan of all the treats!
Peace out~
Nicholle

Leave a Reply

