{workout wednesday}

One of my favorite ways to set my gymboss timer for a HIIT workout is to 20/10, also know as Tabata. {here is a good article that quickly explains high intensity interval training} That’s 20 seconds you are doing the movement as hard as you can, with a 10 second rest until you either start up that same movement or switch to a different movement. A few reasons why I like this 20/10 format, first the mindset. Anyone can do something for 20 seconds, right?? {until you get to the end of your workout and 20 seconds feels like 2 minutes, just remember “anyone can work for 20 seconds”. Repeat it in your head, repeat it out loud, whatever you need to do to go that full 20 seconds!!} Second, this time format is an ideal fat burner! In a 20/10 workout, my heartrate rarely gets below 165 and I can easily burn 100 calories every 10 minutes. Last, you can do this ANYWHERE! Tabata workouts are great with just doing bodyweight movements! Trust me, the bodyweight movements are always the hardest!! If you don’t have a gymboss timer, I highly recommend it! If you have  a smart phone, there is probably an app interval timer. If there isn’t, someone should get on that, but it won’t be me. I’m technologically not smart!

For a “true” Tabata workout, you will keep that timer set to 20/10 and you will do two movements per set. How many times you do each set is up to you, usually about 4 minutes is a good time to switch it up. That means after 4 rounds of the first two movements, you will go into two different movements for another 4 minutes. Got it?? Anywhere from 10-30 minutes is going to get you sweaty! I will warm up before I lift with 10 minutes or so of Tabata, or I will make it my entire workout and go the full 30 minutes. There are so many ways to format this type of workout, that although you are still using a 20/10 interval, it won’t get boring!

Here is an example of a great Butt Lifting Tabata Workout that I did last week, give it a try. Your glutes will thank you!

20140212-154828.jpg
Have a happy hump day!
Peace Out,
Nicholle

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

